Our Services Health Info About Us

Microdiscectomy FAQ

Download PDF
Microdiscectomy FAQ

Microdiscectomy is a common spinal surgery performed by a spine surgeon for patients with a painful lumbar herniated disc. It consists of excising the herniated or protruding portions of the intervertebral disc that is compressing a spinal nerve root. Conventionally, the surgeon would make a large surgical incision and exposure for removing a herniated disc due to lack of microscope. That would result in a long hospital stay and a prolonged recovery period. On a contrary, microdiscectomy is a minimally invasive procedure, poke-hole incision to remove the disc herniation, leaving a smaller surgical wound behind, and allowing for a more rapid recovery.

Surgical Technique
Surgical Technique

This surgery is performed under general anaesthesia with preoperative intravenous antibiotics. The patient is positioned in the prone position (lying on the tummy), with padding for protection of bony prominences and joints. The lower back (surgical region) is cleansed and sterilised, and then sterile draped are placed.

A longitudinal incision (about 1.5-2cm) is made in the low back (~1cm away from midline), right above the area of the herniated disc. Without cutting the paraspinal muscle, sequential dilators and special retractors are used to expose the overlying bone (lamina of the vertebra). After the retractor is in place, an Xray is used to confirms the appropriate intervertebral disc level.

A small part of the superior lamina (a few millimetres) is removed in order to have better visualisation and manipulation. The removal would not affect the overall spine stability. The nerve root and related structures are protected and retracted carefully so that the disc herniation can be exposed. The protruded disc is then removed by some biting or grasping instruments (e.g. pituitary rongeur). The disc and the surrounding areas are examined to ensure no loose fragments are left behind.

The deep fascial layer and subcutaneous layers are closed with a few strong sutures, and then the skin is closed by absorbable suture and special surgical glue. The sutures are all self-dissolvable and do not need removal, and the surgical glue can keep the wound water-proof.

The total surgery time is approximately 1.5 to 2 hours.

What Should I Expect After Surgery
What Should I Expect After Surgery

You usually can sit and walk on the same day after surgery, and able to go home the next day. Before discharge from the hospital, physiotherapists will teach you the proper techniques for walking and getting out of bed.

 

You should avoid bending your waist, lifting a heavy object (more than 3kg), and twisting in the first 4-6 weeks in order to avoid a strain injury or recurrent disc injury/ herniation. Apart from that, prolonged sitting for more than 40 minutes in early postoperative period is also not desirable, that you should get up and stretch your back.

A soft brace (lumbar corset) is provided for additional lumbar support and comfort in the early postoperative period. Prolonged bracing is not necessary and should be avoided.

How Should I Take Care Of My Wound?
How Should I Take Care Of My Wound?

The surgical wound is covered by a water-proof adhesive dressing. You can shower immediately after surgery but should avoid bathing or water hitting directly over the surgical area. After a shower, you should dry off the surgical area with a towel and leave the adhesive dressing in place dry and intact. If the dressing is soaked through or dirty, you should remove the dressing and re-apply a new and clean one onto the wound again.

The wound usually heals at around 2 weeks after surgery. The sutures are all self-dissolved and do not need removal, and the surgical glue will slough off automatically.

 

Can I Drive After Surgery?
Can I Drive After Surgery?

You may begin driving when the wound pain level has decreased to a mild level, which is about 1-2 weeks after surgery. You are not supposed to drive while taking narcotics pain medicine or in significant wound pain. You should have a short drive only and avoid driving alone when driving for the first time after surgery.

When Can I Return to Work?
When Can I Return to Work?

You may return to light and sedentary work duties 1-2 weeks after surgery, provided that the surgical pain has subsided. If you need to return to heavy work and sports, you should regain your back strength with physiotherapy and there is no surgical pain, which may require at least 4-6 weeks after surgery.

When Will My Doctor See Me Again?
When Will My Doctor See Me Again?

Your doctor will see you for a follow-up visit approximately 2 weeks after surgery. The incision will be inspected and normally no stitch removal is required. Then you are required to start the physiotherapy for back exercise and rehabilitation. If needed, medications will be refilled.

 

What Is The Typical Outcome Of The Surgery?
What Is The Typical Outcome Of The Surgery?

In general speaking, the results of microdiscectomy surgery in the treatment of a symptomatic (painful) herniated disc are excellent. Greater than 95% good or excellent results have been demonstrated in numerous scientific studies. Most patients could have a rapid improvement in symptoms and enjoy normal function after surgery.

References
References
  1. Lumbar disc surgery: results of the Prospective Lumbar Discectomy Study of the Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. Abramovitz JN, Neff SR. Neurosurgery 1991;29:301.
  2. Microsurgery versus standard removal of the herniated lumbar disc: a 3-year comparison in 150 cases.Barrios C, Ahmaed M, et al. Acta Orthop Scand 1990;61:399.
  3. The Caspar microsurgical discectomy and comparison with a conventional standard lumbar disc procedure.Caspar W, Campbell B, et al. Neurosurgery 1991;28:78.
  4. Silvers HR. Microsurgical versus standard lumbar discectomy. Neurosurgery 1988;22:837
  5. Does microscopic removal of lumbar disc herniation lead to better results than the standard procedure? Results of a one-year randomized study. Tullberg T, Isacson J, et al. Spine 1993;18:24.
Get In Touch
For any enquiry, please contact us at +852 3420 6655 or info@spineandpain.hk.
Services:
Preferred Time:
*required fields
Top

服務種類 醫學資訊 關於我們

微創椎間盤切除術常見問題

下載PDF
微創椎間盤切除術常見問題

微椎間盤切除術是一種常見治療腰椎間盤突出的脊椎手術,此手術一般會由脊椎外科醫生進行。醫生會切除壓迫著脊椎神經根的椎間盤突出部分。傳統上,因缺乏顯微鏡輔助,外科醫生需較大的手術切口和空間以移除突出的椎間盤,故此會延長住院時間及康復期。相反,微創椎間盤切除術只通過一個戳孔切口把突出的椎間盤切除,手術傷口較細,並可加快康復進度。

手術程序
手術程序

手術需要全身麻醉及在術前於靜脈注射抗生素。患者會俯臥在床上,軟墊會保護骨頭突起的地方和關節,下背部(手術區域)亦會進行消毒,然後放置無菌覆蓋物。

在背部下方椎間盤突出區域的正上方,剖開一個縱向切口(約1.5-2厘米闊,距離腰部中線約1厘米)。然後在無須剖開脊側肌肉的情況下,使用順序擴張器和特殊牽開器令上覆脊骨(椎骨椎板)曝光。牽開器就位後,會以X光檢查目標椎間盤位置是否正確。

在不影響脊椎的整體穩定性下,小部分(數毫米)的上椎板會被移除,以獲得更佳清晰度及方便操作。在保護神經根和相關結構後小心將其縮起,椎間盤突出的部分便會清晰可見。然後通過咬合/緊抓器具(例如垂體咬骨鉗)移除突出的椎間盤,另外會檢查椎間盤和其周邊範圍以確認沒有留下碎片。

醫護人員會用強力縫線將深層筋膜和皮下層縫合,然後用可吸收縫線和特殊手術凝膠縫合皮膚。此類縫線會自行溶化,無需拆線,手術凝膠亦為傷口防水。整個手術時間約為1.5至2小時。

術後有什麼注意事項?
術後有什麼注意事項?

正常情況下,術後當天您已經可以坐起及行走,第二天就能回家。在出院前,物理治療師會教授正確的步行和下床技巧。

您應該避免彎曲腰部、抬起重物(超過3公斤)或在4至6星期內扭腰,以避免勞損或復發性椎間盤損傷/突出。此外,術後早期應避免久坐(超過40分鐘),應定時站起伸展背部。 

在術後早期佩帶柔軟支架(腰封)可提供額外的腰部承托和舒適性,但應避免長時間佩帶。

我應如何護理傷口?
我應如何護理傷口?

傷口由防水粘合性敷料覆蓋,術後即可淋浴,但應避免浸浴或直接用水沖洗開刀範圍。淋浴後,應用毛巾擦乾,並保持敷料乾爽完好。如敷料已濕透或弄髒,則應將之撕下,並重新貼上全新潔淨的敷料。

傷口通常在術後約2星期癒合。縫線會自行溶化,無需拆線,手術凝膠亦會自行脫落。

術後可以駕駛嗎?
術後可以駕駛嗎?

術後約1至2星期,當傷口疼痛減至輕微程度時,您可以開始駕駛,但不應在服用麻醉止痛藥下或傷口顯著疼痛時駕駛。應先作短途駕駛,術後初次駕駛亦應避免單獨進行。

何時才能重新投入工作?
何時才能重新投入工作?

如手術疼痛減退,您可以在術後1至2星期恢復簡單文職工作。如要重啟勞動工作和運動,應在術後至少4至6星期才開始,並接受物理治療以恢復背部力量,及確保沒有手術疼痛。

何時需要覆診?
何時需要覆診?

一般於術後約兩星期覆診。醫生會為您檢查手術切口,一般不需要拆線。之後您需開始接受物理治療以鍛煉背部和進行復康運動。如有需要,會再處方藥物。

手術成效如何?
手術成效如何?

一般而言,微創椎間盤切除術能有效治療椎間盤突出,舒緩痛楚。不少科學研究顯示,超過九成五個案的成效良好或甚佳。大部份患者的症狀均有迅速改善,術後亦能回復正常功能。

參考文獻
參考文獻
  1. Lumbar disc surgery: results of the Prospective Lumbar Discectomy Study of the Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. Abramovitz JN, Neff SR. Neurosurgery 1991;29:301.
  2. Microsurgery versus standard removal of the herniated lumbar disc: a 3-year comparison in 150 cases.Barrios C, Ahmaed M, et al. Acta Orthop Scand 1990;61:399.
  3. The Caspar microsurgical discectomy and comparison with a conventional standard lumbar disc procedure.Caspar W, Campbell B, et al. Neurosurgery 1991;28:78.
  4. Silvers HR. Microsurgical versus standard lumbar discectomy. Neurosurgery 1988;22:837
  5. Does microscopic removal of lumbar disc herniation lead to better results than the standard procedure? Results of a one-year randomized study. Tullberg T, Isacson J, et al. Spine 1993;18:24.
聯絡我們 
如有任何查詢,請致電+852 3420 6655或電郵info@spineandpain.hk與我們聯絡。
服務:
首選時間:
*必需填寫
Top