Our Services Health Info About Us

FAQs for Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion (ALIF)

Download PDF
FAQs for Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion (ALIF)

Anterior lumbar interbody fusion (ALIF) is a kind of spinal fusion done via anterior approach. We can get access to the spine from the abdomen by using a special corridor called retroperitoneal space. Historically, it is a classical approach for spinal fusion since 1950’s. There are several advantages over the posterior spinal fusion including better restoration of the lumbar curvature, more stable in supporting the spine with larger fusion area and without nerve tissue irritation.

Now the ALIF is much different from the past. We use inter-body fusion cage (a plastic rectangular shape device made of an inert substance with physical property similar to bone) with bone substitute packed in the middle. The fusion cage has its own fixation system to stabilise itself into the disc space. Therefore lumbar rigid brace is not required. Earlier recovery in return to normal activities is expected. Bone growth inside the fusion cage to achieve union between 2 vertebrae is usually seen at 6 months.

Surgical Procedures
Surgical Procedures

Our approach to ALIF is simple. The incision is dependent on the level of the disc surgery and is guided by the fluoroscopy in the operating room. Transverse Pfannenstiel incision below umbilicus for L5S1 disc and longitudinal incision for L45 or above is commonly used. The linea alba (midline tendon of the belly muscle) incised and get into the retroperitoneal space. After careful dissection, the major vessels in front of the spine are exposed. After gentle retraction of the vessels, the disc space can be fully exposed. There is minimal bleeding via this approach if there is no challenging vessels around the surgical site.

Standard diskectomy can be started by using special instruments. After clean up the disc space, different size trial can be inserted to gauge the size of the cage. Fusion cage implant packed with rBMP and allograft putty will be inserted and fixed with 4 screws. The surgery is completed. After checking any residual oozing, the wound is closed in layers with different sutures. Sometimes we will need to insert a drain at around the fusion area to monitor any oozing after the surgery. The repair is secured and no removal of stitches is required. The dressing is water-proofed to allow patient to go for shower on the next day.

Surgical Risk
Surgical Risk

Risk of ALIF is low. Under experienced hands, the complication rate will be around 1-2%. Potential risks include wound infection, bleeding (usually 50-100 cc for 1 segment), major vessel injury required repair, peritoneal membrane perforation required repair, bowel injury, prolonged ileus (> 1 week), deep vein thrombosis, incisional hernia, retrograde ejeculation causing infertility (1%), cage migration, loosening, delayed or nonunion. Neurological injury is rare. Sympathetic chain injury causing warm leg is common but usually transient. Residual back pain or leg pain may occurred if there is other factors contribution to the symptoms.

Rehabilitation
Rehabilitation

Length of stay in hospital is usually around 4-5 nights. Normally, the patient can resume fluid diet on the same day or the next day. Sometimes, abdominal distension might occur because of the bowel does not move (called ileus) for a short period of time. It normally resolves within 1-2 day(s). Walking and standing help to resolve ileus. Medications will be given to stimulate the bowel to move faster. In rare situation such as complex and prolonged surgery, the ileus can last for a week.

The rehabilitation time is short. The incision heals by 2 weeks. Normally, the patient can resume office work by 2-3 weeks. Physiotherapy rehabilitation protocol will be given to guide the level of activities at different time. Sports can be resumed by 3-6 months depend on the speed of recovery.

Please refer to this website for the surgical videos.

http://www.spine-health.com/video/alif-anterior-lumbar-interbody-fusion-video

FAQs for Posterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion (PLIF)
Get In Touch
For any enquiry, please contact us at +852 3420 6655 or info@spineandpain.hk.
Services:
Preferred Time:
*required fields
Top

服務種類 醫學資訊 關於我們

腰椎前路融合術常見問題

下載PDF
腰椎前路融合術常見問題

腰椎前路融合術(ALIF)是通過身體前側切口進行的脊椎融合手術。我們可以透過特別通道(稱腹膜後隙)進入脊椎。這是自1950年代開始沿用的典型治療方案,比後路融合能更有效回復腰椎孤度及較大脊柱融合面積,亦不會刺激神經組織。

現代腰椎前路融合術與過往已大爲不同。我們會使用椎體間融合器(是一種由特殊塑膠物料製造的裝置,作爲骨骼替代品)。融合器内置固定系統,能穩定融合器的位置,毋須額外背部支架以縮短復原時間。一般而言,大約6個月,融合器内生長的骨骼會把上下兩節椎骨融合一起。

手術程序
手術程序

腰椎前路融合術是一項簡單直接手術。皮膚切口大小及方向會視乎患者情況而定。醫生會透過X光來輔助來進行手術。針對L5S1位置的手術,我們一般會在患者肚臍以下位置橫向切口, 而L45或更上位置則垂直剖開,沿著腹白線進入腹膜後方。小心剖開後,即可見到脊柱前方的主要血管。將血管輕微撥開後,便會看到椎間盤前方。一般正常人體結構下,手術的出血程度是相對很低。

下一步,便使用特殊儀器來清理椎間盤。當椎間盤空位完全清除後,便可放置不同大小的樣板,以測量融合器的大小。最後便將內藏骨增生蛋白及異體骨的椎體間融合器植入,再以4口螺絲固定在脊椎,手術便告完成。醫生會檢查傷囗間有否滲血,若沒有出血便把傷口縫合。有時可能需要在脊椎融合位置旁放入引流管,以監測術後有否滲血情況。傷口癒合後,一般無需拆綫,於第二天可以淋浴。

手術風險
手術風險

腰椎前路融合術是一個安全的手術。由經驗豐富的醫生操刀,出現併發症的機會只有百份之1至2。 潛在風險有傷口感染、少量出血(每節脊椎少於100毫升)、血管及腸道損傷﹑腹膜損傷、腸道損傷、長期腹脹(超過一星期)、深靜脈血栓塞、疝氣、不育(1%)、支架移位、鬆脫、融合緩慢或不融合、短暫交感神經損傷導致下肢較暖。死亡及神經受損屬非常罕有個案。亦有機會出現剩餘性背痛或腿痛。

術後護理
術後護理

一般患者需留院4至5晚。正常情況下,患者可於同一日或手術第二天進食流質食物。患者有機會因腸道短時間沒有蠕動而導致腹部腫脹,步行和站立均有助紓緩腸胃不適。醫生也會為患者處方藥物以促進腸道蠕動。只在少數情況下,腹脹才會延續至一星期。

術後復康時間較短,切口會在兩星期內癒合。正常情況下,文職工作患者可於一兩星期內回復工作。體力勞動工人大概六至八星期才能復工。病人可依從物理治療復康指引,在不同階段進行所需程度的復康運動。視乎康復進度,患者可於3至6個月内重新運動。

請參考以下手術短片

http://www.spine-health.com/video/alif-anterior-lumbar-interbody-fusion-video

腰椎後路融合術常見問題
聯絡我們 
如有任何查詢,請致電+852 3420 6678或電郵info@spineandpain.hk與我們聯絡。
服務
首選時間
首選診所地點
*必需填寫
Top